Week 2 Blog- Creative

3/ “The delight alone or in the rush of the streets, or along the fields and hill-sides”. Use this line from Walt Whitman’s Song of Myself to compose your own short poem about what most delights you in and through your own experience of being alive.

 

Delight 

How shall I tell thee what most delights me?

From a warm embrace to a gentle smile,

To love and be loved, this sets my soul free;

A few things I’ve been longing for a while,

Sometimes I sit alone, and wonder why,

Hecate, is solitude delightful?

When all I do alone is weep and cry,

Perhaps, solitude can be insightful?

My experience of being alive,

Taught me, the lovely gift of existing,

Without living is to merely survive,

Ah Metis, is this just wishful thinking?

And thus, my experience has proven,

The delight in being a human.

 

Note: This is my extremely bad first attempt at writing a Shakespearean sonnet. I apologise.

Image Sourced From http://images.rapgenius.com/381bc14b06f4b4acce2437ed579b16e3.200x300x1.jpg

 

 

3 thoughts on “Week 2 Blog- Creative

  1. Hey Kim, I think you have a pretty nice idea. Just my opinion, this does sound more like an internal monologue rather than an actual poem as it is still too blunt and does not give much room for different interpretations. This is still a good first entry!

    Like

  2. HI Kim,
    I don’t think you can say this is an attempt to write a Shakespearean sonnet!!!! But it is very Whitmanesque and works in that mode. You need to read it aloud to yourself and adjust your line lengths so that sings more “in tune”. Perhaps something like this:

    Delight

    How shall I tell thee what most delights?

    From a warm embrace to a gentle smile,

    To love and be loved, this sets me free;

    For things I’ve been longing for a while,

    Sometimes alone I wonder why,

    Hecate, is solitude a delight?

    When alone I weep and cry,

    Can solitude be insightful?

    …. and so on ??????

    Like

Leave a comment